Log in


History of the Argonaut Rowing Club

Since 1872...

...the Argonaut Rowing Club has been a sporting and cultural cornerstone of the city of Toronto. You can read the whole story at this link

Larry Marshall and crew launch a coach boat, in the early 1980s

History Blog

Gathering and documenting the Argonaut history is an ongoing effort. New information will be posted here periodically. The full list of articles is available here. 

Recent Articles

Perseverence and Glory

The History of the Argonaut Rowing Club

Buy it!

Tell Us Your Story

The ARC Historical Society is dedicated to preserving the history of the club. If you have a story or memorabilia you would like to share, we would love to hear from you. Reach out to us at

Argonaut Olympians

The Argonaut Rowing Club is home to great members and athletes, a number of whom have represented Canada at the Olympic level since 1904. (Check out the blog for their detailed stories!)

Sydney Payne – 2020 Tokyo

Victoria Nolan – Paralympian – 2008 Beijing, 2012 London, 2016 Rio, 2020 Tokyo

Brian Price – 2008 Beijing, 2012 London

Mara Jones– 2004 Athens

Marnie McBean – 1992 Barcelona, 1996 Atlanta

Shannon Crawford – 1992 Barcelona

Kay Worthington – 1984 Los Angeles, 1988 Seoul, 1992 Barcelona

David Johnson – 1984 Los Angeles, 1988 Seoul

J. Michael Evans – 1984 Seoul

Phil Monckton – 1976 Montreal, 1984 Los Angeles

George Tintor – 1976 Montreal, 1980 Moscow(boycotted)

Mike Neary – 1972 Munich, 1976 Montreal

Gregory Rokosh – 1972 Munich

Donald Curphy – 1972 Munich

Richard Symsyk – 1968 Mexico, 1972 Munich

Joel Finlay (cox) – 1968 Mexico

Lief Gotfredsen – 1964 Tokyo

1952 Olympic Men’s Eight 

Steve Sandor – 1952

Argo Crews – 1928

Argo Crew – 1920

Argo Crews – 1912

Argo Crews – 1908

Argo Crew –1904

Argonaut Rowing Club is a not-for-profit corporation registered with the Province of Ontario. 

1225 Lakeshore Blvd W, Toronto, ON M6K 3C1


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software